Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

“To improve the quality of the public education system so that students are adequately prepared for higher education, rewarding employment, continued education, and responsible citizenship. We carry out our mission in partnership with Massachusetts school districts and other organizations that provide educational programs and services. Students, parents, teachers and other educators, elected officials, business and community leaders, and the public all are stakeholders in the work of the Department to improve schools and raise student achievement.”

“is a consortium of state education agencies and national educational organizations dedicated to the reform of the preparation, licensing, and on-going professional development of teachers. Created in 1987, INTASC’s primary constituency is state education agencies responsible for teacher licensing, program approval, and professional development. Its work is guided by one basic premise: An effective teacher must be able to integrate content knowledge with the specific strengths and needs of students to assure that all students learn and perform at high levels.”
NBPTS is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization governed by a board of directors, the majority of whom are classroom teachers. Other members include school administrators, school board leaders, governors and state legislators, higher education officials, teacher union leaders and business and community leaders.
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP)“CAEP advances excellent educator preparation through evidence-based accreditation that assures quality and supports continuous improvement to strengthen P-12 student learning.”
National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)“NCATE is an alliance of more than 30 national professional organizations of teaching profession and education policy community that are committed to quality teaching. It is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation as an approved professional organization for the accreditation of teacher education.”

Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC)“The Teacher Education Accreditation Council is dedicated to helping educator preparation programs improve and be accountable for their quality. Our membership represents a broad range of higher education institutions, from small liberal arts colleges to large research universities.”Association of Teacher Educators (ATE)“An individual membership organization devoted solely to the improvement of teacher education both for school-based and post secondary teacher educators.”Chief Council of State School Officers (CCSSO)

“is a nationwide, nonpartisan, and nonprofit membership organization. The only one of its kind to bring together the top education leaders from every state in the nation.”

American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) / National Association for Sport and Physical Education (NASPE)
Deborah Fortune
(703) 476-3439
Fax: (703) 476-6638

Diane Raynes
(703) 476-3414
Fax: (703) 476-8316

Association for Childhood Education International ( ACEI)
Ronald Colbert

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages ( ACTFL)
Eileen W. Glisan
Fax: 719-333-2946

Stephen Levy
(914) 963-8830 x218
Fax: (914) 963-1275

Association for Educational Communications & Technology ( AECT)
Milt Nielsen
(512) 288-1799
Fax: (512) 245-3168

American Library Association ( ALA)
Karen O’Brien

Council for Exceptional Children ( CEC)
Sabata Morris
(703) 264-9466
Fax: (703) 264-1637

International Reading Association ( IRA)
Gail Keating
(302) 731-1600 x226
Fax: (302) 731-1057

International Society for Technology in Education ( ISTE)
Lajeane Gentry Thomas
(318) 257-3923
Fax: (318) 257-4916

International Technology Education Association/Council on Technology Teacher Education (ITEA/CTTE)
Gerald Day
Fax: 410-659-7629

National Association for Education of Young Children ( NAEYC)
Heather Biggar
(202) 454-7606
Fax: (202) 234-6415

Marilou C. Hyson
(202) 232-8777 X414
Fax: (202) 234-6415

National Association of School Psychologists ( NASP)
Joseph Prus
(803) 323-2341
Fax: (803) 323-2359

National Council for Social Studies ( NCSS)
Robert M. Toepper

National Council of Teachers of English ( NCTE)
Charles R. Duke
(828) 262-2234
Fax: (828) 262-2128

Sandra E. Gibbs
Fax: (217)278-3760

National Council for Teachers of Mathematics ( NCTM)
Monique Lynch
(703) 620-9840, x112
Fax: (703) 476-2970

Marilyn Hala
(703) 620-9840, x2150
Fax: (703) 476-2970

National Science Teachers Association ( NSTA)
Steven W. Gilbert
(703) 538-8496
Fax: (703) 538-8485

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages ( TESOL)
Jason J. Majesky
(703) 518-2527
Fax: (703) 836-7864


Massachusetts Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (MACTE) is an affiliate of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). The views expressed on this website are the views of MACTE.